Alice’s Chunky Lace

IMG_7232

Last week we visited with family in St. Andrews, New Brunswick, where August evenings were chilly enough for Alice to sport her new sweater. I finished this sweater right before we left for our trip, but I had been working on it in fits and spurts for a couple of months. I knew it was going to be huge, so I felt no rush to finish it. Alice currently wears it with sleeves rolled, so I think it will last her at least a year.

The pattern, Olive’s Chunky Lace , was one I have been waiting to knit since Alice was a newborn, as the smallest size is 2 years. I’m not generally one for bulky yarns and chunky knits, but loved this pattern instantly…which is why I copied it right down to the light pink color. I chose to knit it up in Drops Eskimo, a single ply roving-type wool yarn, and I used the Light Powder Pink. The yarn broke on me a few times, but I ended up being quite happy with it, particularly at only $2.60 per ball!

IMG_7218IMG_7234

I thought the pattern was generally well-written and easy enough to follow. Alice is small for her age so while it’s clearly large on her, I think the sizing was pretty good. If I were to knit this again I think I’d knit the sleeves down from the top instead of knitting them separately and setting them in. For whatever reason I had trouble making them fit in neatly.

IMG_7219

I’m very happy with the finished product- it seems to me to be a comfortable yet pretty play sweater, which is exactly what I was going for. I saw that the designer recently wrote the pattern in adult sizes in lighter weight yarn…perhaps I’ll have to add it to my ever-growing list of sweaters to knit.

IMG_7238

 

4 thoughts on “Alice’s Chunky Lace

  1. It was a wonderful visit, and Alice was adorable in every sweater she wore. Her last night here, singing at the table will be a treasured memory. Love to all

  2. So happy I caught you guys at the antique store. Meeting Alice has been the highlight of my summer! So blessed cute. Love the sweater. It was wonderful seeing you and Philip too.

Leave a comment