Such A Winter’s Day Pullover

IMG_6118

I finally managed to make myself a sweater that isn’t way too big! I couldn’t be happier with the way this pullover turned out- I love both the pattern and the yarn.

I purchased the pattern, Such A Winter’s Day designed by Heidi Kirrmaier, several years ago. Probably because it was my first attempt at top-down construction I couldn’t visualize what was going on, found the pattern confusing, and used the yarn for something else instead. I’m pleased to report that this time around I didn’t have any trouble at all with the pattern. It is written in a different way, with instructions for the various sizes in table form instead of within parentheses, but it didn’t really bother me. My one gripe is that I came up short a ball of yarn and had to reorder, but I wasn’t using the exact yarn called for so that’s nobody’s fault but mine.

IMG_6174

Determined not to make another giant sweater, I chose a size with minimal ease at the bust and actually worked my gauge in the round and blocked my gauge. It was definitely worth the extra effort. I opted not to include the waist shaping but made no other changes to the pattern. If I were to make it again I would use an i-cord cast off, but I like it fine as is.

IMG_6169

The yarn I used was Drops Lima, which is a wool/alpaca blend that is startlingly inexpensive. It was my first time using it and it’s definitely going to be one of my standbys. It’s very soft but sturdy and just fuzzy enough. I chose powder pink because I wanted both a neutral and a color. I liked it so much that now I’m making a sweater for Alice out of the same color.

IMG_6148

Delighted as I am with the end result, I’m also happy to be able to cast on to a more interesting knit next. Got to keep my brain sharp!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Such A Winter’s Day Pullover

Leave a Reply

