Plantain T-Shirt & February Update

img_5961

It has been so long since I’ve updated this space that I was a little worried that I might have forgotten my password. What a month it’s been! Between three sets of house guests,  buying a new car, getting sick, and all our usual playing and working and enjoying both snowstorms and unseasonably warm weather February absolutely flew by. I only have one completed project to show for myself: the Plantain T-Shirt, a free pattern from Deer & Doe, a French pattern company. I haven’t bought any of their patterns, but this came together so nicely that I may in the future…perhaps this sweet dress?

I don’t love PDF patterns- all the printing and taping- but since so many great independent designers only offer PDFs I need to get over that. Anyway, I have a sweet helper, and I get to tape the pieces together with pretty washi tape.

img_5924

This is only the second knit sewing project I’ve attempted, and I noticed with Alice’s little bird dress that it shrunk dramatically, so I prewashed my cotton/poly double knit twice. I also cut a size larger in case of shrinking since I generally like more ease in my shirts. Next time I may go down a size since the pattern flares at the bottom and is quite roomy anyway. I won’t bore you with too many pictures- suffice to say that it looks like a t-shirt! With 3/4 length sleeves and a prettier neckline. I originally planned on the elbow patches but I sewed them on the wrong side twice and decided it was a sign. It came together in an evening and I’m pleased with the result. In the past I’ve poo-pooed the idea of sewing staples like t-shirts, but it was really very satisfying to make something I’ll wear every week.

img_5939

And now! What everyone really came for…baby pictures! This was such a big month in terms of language acquisition for Alice. She’s got around 40 words (yes, I counted…she’s my only kid, I have time for these things) including “cocoa,” “cheese,” “cracker,” “fruit,” “snack,” and “MORE!” No doubts about who she’s related to! She loved visiting with friends and all her grandparents this month, and she’s also started wanting to “help” me with all my chores.

img_5763img_5788img_5810img_5814img_5831img_5844img_5878img_5912img_5919

Before I sign off I’ll leave you with a little glimpse of my current sewing project and the most gorgeous fabric I’ve worked with yet…

img_5929

Happy Shrove Tuesday! We’ll be enjoying our pancakes tonight- hope you do too.

 

Leave a Reply

