A Jacket for Alice

 

img_4948

I finished Alice’s jacket just in time for our first lake effect snowstorm since moving here. We got a good 21 inches and have some very impressive snowdrifts. Now, don’t worry…Alice also has a good LLBean snowsuit that is warm and waterproof and all that, but I felt like her wardrobe could benefit from a more dressy coat.  I made this completely out of bits  of things I had lying around, from a pattern I already had.

img_4956

I used the reversible jacket from the Lullaby Layette pattern by Oliver+S, found here. I had previously made the pants from this pattern and they turned out enormous, but I decided to make the 12-18 month size anyway, since I was using heftier fabric than called for and because I wanted Alice to be able to wear a couple layers underneath it. It turned out perfect- I’m glad I didn’t cut it smaller. The jacket is cleverly constructed- you make two raglan-sleeved jackets, sew them together at the cuffs and then bind the two jackets together with bias tape. I finished mine with two hidden snaps and two decorative buttons. I had planned on bound buttonholes, but it was decided that when dressing a squirmy toddler who does not like outerwear, snaps are where it’s at.

img_4960img_4941

I used leftover herringbone wool that I used to make a skirt for myself several years ago, and I lined it with fleece leftover from a blanket for Charley. The sleeves I lined with purple Bemberg leftover from lining a dress, and the pearl buttons are from Philip’s Great-Aunt’s button jar. The ric rac and bias tape were fished out from a big bag of vintage trims my mother gave me last winter.

img_4932img_4950

Of all of my hobbies, I find sewing the hardest to find time for. I don’t like to sew after dark and I prefer to have long stretches of time to focus when I’m sewing. I cut this out and stitched it together during a few naptimes and afternoons when Philip was home. It reminded me how much I enjoy sewing, and that even if I don’t have luxurious free afternoons to sew anymore I should squeeze it in more often when I’m able. I love knitting, but I find sewing uniquely satisfying. Something about fitting all those puzzle pieces together and finishing things perfectly…

img_4923

p.s. Alice’s hat is from the same free pattern I used here, and her scarf is another free pattern that I found here. Both patterns are such fun and I highly recommend them! Alice’s lovely mittens were made by her Nana.

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “A Jacket for Alice

  1. Love the jacket! I feel similarly about sewing – and cannot sew in the evening. I have yards of ric-rac and trim from hand-me down sewing boxes – which I will use one day!

    Like

  2. Your Nana Barter would be so proud of you. She loved making adorable clothes for her girls to wear, not to mention her dolls. Alice is a bit of both and you clearly have a great deal of Nana in you. Love to all

    Like

Leave a Reply

