A Wee Liesl

IMG_2243

With the weather warming up around here I decided that Alice needed a summery cardigan. The pattern, designed by Ysolda Teague, is Wee Liesl and can be found here. I found the pattern to be excellently written and I’m so happy with the fit and details.

IMG_2240

The sweater is worked in one piece from the top down. The lace design is easily memorized and makes for a quick project. I made the 6-12 month size which fits well now and is long enough to last quite a while. I opted to make it short sleeved to show off chubby baby arms and dimpled elbows, but I’ll definitely be making a long-sleeved autumnal version later this year. Included in the pattern was a matching beret which I’m sorely tempted to make, but I think I’ll make it to match the fall version instead. I’m thinking a nice butternut color?

IMG_2263

I used Quince and Co. yarn for this project and I absolutely love it. It’s a fingering weight wool called Finch, and the color is Bird’s Egg. I think Finch is going to be my standard fingering weight wool from now on- it is bouncy and soft but it works up with great stitch definition. I’ve been reading lots of Wendell Berry essays this week which made me particularly happy that it is also 100% American wool spun in the United States. And it’s reasonably priced! In short, this is the perfect yarn as long as you don’t mind handwashing. As it happens, I like handwashing.

IMG_2245

The buttons are nothing special but I like the little flower shape and am happy with the way they mirror the scallops of the sweater. Alice likes to try to eat her buttons these days so I made sure they were very well sewn on. I will probably never button all the buttons and in subsequent versions I may just put two or three buttons on instead.

Alice has already worn her sweater twice and spit up on it several times, so she must really like it! IMG_2265

And now it’s back to a sweater for myself that I’ve started and stopped several times over the past two years. Maybe this is the week that I’ll actually finish it!

For the curious, Alice’s bloomers are Simplicity 1600a- more details here.

4 thoughts on “A Wee Liesl

Leave a Reply

