A Spring Dress for Alice

IMG_1634

Just to be clear, it is definitely not spring over here yet. I’ve had this little piece of fabric kicking around in a basket for more than a year now and last week I just couldn’t resist any longer. Besides, once it’s actually spring I imagine that Alice and I will be spending our time doing lots of outside things instead of sewing tiny frocks.

IMG_1631

Alice’s aunt gave her a sweet little dress a few months ago from Baby Gap and I loved the simple construction, lightly gathered neckline, and raglan sleeves. I find that most baby sewing patterns have way too much fabric and volume for my liking, so I decided to make a pattern from the Baby Gap dress. It was such a simple design that I had no problem copying it, and then I changed a few little details.

Instead of a button placket in the back I decided on a simple keyhole back with button and loop closure, in part because it’s easier and in part because I think it looks cute and breezy. I also decided to use a contrasting binding and added a fun little bow-and-wee-button decoration on the front.

IMG_1646

IMG_1663

I bought this fabric at a great little fabric store when we lived in Lincoln- it’s organic cotton voile from Cloud9 Fabrics (collection here) and is really lovely stuff. It’s very lightweight-almost sheer- so it needed a light lining. The morning I was cutting this out was freezing and I hadn’t showered in several days, so venturing out for lining fabric was decidedly out of the question. Instead I sacrificed a skirt from my wardrobe that was stained and tired but had a nice white lawn lining. The best part? A pre-hemmed lining!

IMG_1664

The bias tape I used was from a bag of trims my mother brought me and is unquestionably older than I am. The tiny accent button is probably older than both of us.

IMG_1659

The dress fits Alice well now, but I expect it will last for quite a while. I’m thinking that paired with a little bonnet and tights it could be a cute little Easter dress, and later when it’s actually hot out the super lightweight fabric should be comfortable.

IMG_1656

Our dining room table is currently cluttered with the beginnings of a spring dress for myself which coordinates remarkably well with Alice’s…though I swear I didn’t plan it that way!

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Spring Dress for Alice

Leave a Reply

