Anemone Bonnet

IMG_1339

Pixie bonnets really are just the cutest, aren’t they? I knit this up last week as a Valentine’s gift for Alice because a.) pixie bonnets and b.)I wanted to try the new fingering weight baby alpaca from Knit Picks.

IMG_1338

I used the basic pattern that is available free online here and tweaked the size to make it smaller for Alice. It’s a very simple pattern to adjust. I knit i-cord ties and then decided it needed a little something so I rummaged through my stash of wool felt and constructed a little flower based on the magnet pattern I found here.

IMG_1348

At first I was underwhelmed with the yarn- it seems thinner to me than most fingering weight and it is certainly not as dreamy as the Plymouth brand baby alpaca that I recently used for Alice’s sweater. It does soften up as you knit with it though, and I ended up pleased with the result and scheming about projects I’d like to use it for in the future.

IMG_1347

The last thing Alice really needs in her wardrobe just now is a new hat…but we all know that’s not really what it’s all about!

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Anemone Bonnet

Leave a Reply

