Quick Cinnamon Rolls

IMG_5137

One of the things I learned from being a Nebraskan for several years is that nothing makes a bowl of chili more delicious than an accompanying cinnamon roll. I resisted this initially, but ultimately I had to try it and admit that it is a fabulous combination. The problem is that making cinnamon rolls is much more of an undertaking than a pan of cornbread, and also that having a whole batch of cinnamon rolls for a family of two (at least two people who eat solid food) is dangerous. Behold the Quick Cinnamon Rolls for Two! I can’t take credit for the idea, which I found here, but I have tweaked it to make it a little more to my liking. I’m not saying that these are really as scrummy (they say this on the Great British Baking Show and I’ve been looking for an opportunity to use it in a sentence) as a real, yeasty cinnamon roll, but you can make them in half an hour and they are pretty darn good. So:

You will need:

-¾ cup all-purpose flour

-1 tablespoon sugar

-½ teaspoon baking powder

-¼ teaspoon baking soda

-⅛ teaspoon salt

-5 tablespoons milk

-1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar

-2 tablespoons melted butter

Filling:

-1 tablespoon softened butter

-2 tablespoons brown sugar

-1 tablespoon white sugar

-2 teaspoon cinnamon

Preheat oven to 375 and butter four muffin cups.

Mix dry ingredients with a whisk. With a spoon, mix in melted butter, vinegar, and milk to form dough. This dough is pretty sticky, so be liberal with the flour as your roll it into a square. Spread softened butter atop your dough, then sprinkle with cinnamon and your blend of sugars. Roll up, cut into four pieces, and place them in muffin cups. Bake for about 15 minutes, then cool slightly in the pan before removing them onto the attractive serving plate of your choice.

I made a simple glaze with powdered sugar, milk, and a dash of vanilla to drizzle atop the rolls after they had cooled a bit, but such decadence is certainly not required.

IMG_5142

In case you are curious, I was told by a friend that the chili and cinnamon roll combination was begun years and years ago by the Lincoln Public School lunch ladies. You should try it! Really!

2 thoughts on “Quick Cinnamon Rolls

  1. My friend, Laurie Eastman, is from Iowa. She has always made chili and cinnamon rolls on the same day and served them together and I have never understood it. I am sure that this is a tradition from her lunch room, too.
    I guess I should try it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

