Welcome Alice Virginia!

IMG_4629

One week ago this morning (at 7:51 a.m. to be exact) little Alice Virginia joined our family! She was 7 pounds even and 19 inches. I couldn’t have imagined such a beautiful baby and we are completely smitten with her.

IMG_4567
Alice Virginia, one hour old
Babies don't come any better than this...
One day old.

Alice and I needed a bit of extra attention at the hospital, and everyone there was absolutely wonderful- I get a little teary whenever I think about it. We felt blessed to be so well and lovingly looked after.

The nurses commented that she was such a natural little feeder, which I took as evidence that she is, indeed, related to us. She has her father’s dimpled chin, ruffled ear, and crooked little finger, but she looks a little like baby pictures of me too. On Thursday we were allowed to take our little girl home, and while they warned us that she might get extra fussy in the first day or so out of the hospital, she seems to take after her Mama and is apparently quite the homebody.

IMG_4622
The car ride home was a little traumatic, but she eventually calmed down…
IMG_4634
She settled right in at home…

Alice’s Nana and Grandpa were able to come help us at home for several days, so we’ve been able to rest, recover, and spend all our time cuddling with and staring at our beautiful little girl.

IMG_4679
Alice and her Nana

Alice likes her meals, and is on a hobbit-like nursing schedule, appreciating such meals as second breakfast, elevenses, and afternoon tea. She also likes being swaddled, being bounced around the house and sung to by her Daddy, and sleeping. She doesn’t like being changed, having a meal interrupted, or being shown off to neighbors.

IMG_4642
Showing an early interest in literature…
IMG_4653
and a flair for the dramatic!

My parents left this morning and Philip went off to work, leaving Alice and I at home alone for the first day. I can’t believe how lucky I am to have such a sweet girl to spend my days with.

IMG_4690
Alice Virginia, one week old. I’m so glad she’s ours.
6 thoughts on “Welcome Alice Virginia!

  1. She is amazing! I really do see you (and your brother) in her. I am so happy for all of you and look forward to cuddling with her myself.

    Like

  2. OOOHHH!!!!! I love her! She looks just like you. Congratulations Margaret, I know you will be most fabulous at this new adventure that never ends… September 1st then. Love her name, and her wee bed and her wee hat and her wee everything. (I have been watching too much Monarch of the Glen) Please keep posting in between sleeps. I do not want to miss a second.

    Like

  3. Congratulations Margaret!! Nana sent the link along to us Barters down on the Cape. She is truly beautiful, and I’m glad to see she is staying true to her Hobbit heritage! I can’t wait to see her (and you) during the holidays up in Maine. Wishing you all the best, and lots of love!

    Like

Leave a Reply

