Weekly Update- August 25th

IMG_4519

It’s been another quiet week here at Bellrose Cottage. There have been some warm days, but there’s a definite end-of-summer feeling in the air. We’ve been taking it easy and enjoying the last real week of summer vacation, and I’ve been trying not to spend too much time wishing that baby Gipson would just hurry up and arrive already. We’ve gotten several baby gifts in the mail: a beautiful handmade baby quilt, a swaddle sack, a box full of sweet board books. It’s lovely to know that there are so many people besides ourselves who are excited about the impending arrival.

I finally got around to reading two books loaned to me by a friend:  Americanah by Chimanda Ngozi Adichie and The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot. Both were excellent and engaging, and made me very unproductive for several days. What time I didn’t spend reading, I began work on a new knitting project, played around in the kitchen, and did a fair amount of napping.

A few photo highlights:

I began my second attempt at this cabled beret pattern- last time it came out so large I could have worn it as a cape...
I began my second attempt at this cabled beret pattern- last time it came out so large I could have worn it as a cape…
I made some garlicky, spicy pickles...
I made some garlicky, spicy quick pickles…
This zucchini "bread" recipe wasn't fooling anyone, so I went ahead and gave it the frosting it was asking for...
This zucchini “bread” recipe wasn’t fooling anyone, so I went ahead and gave it some frosting…
IMG_4520
I bought some mums…
IMG_4511
and made some nectarine-raspberry jam.

Tonight we are off to a new faculty picnic, and then we don’t have anything scheduled for the next few days. Sure would be a good time to have a baby! Here’s hoping!

4 thoughts on “Weekly Update- August 25th

  1. Hi Margaret, this is the first opportunity I’ve had (houseful of company) to log in to your blog. It is absolutely wonderful and thank you so much for including me. Your life looks so comfortable and peaceful and I’m going to enjoy looking at your uncluttered lifestyle and see if I can reduce some of my “packed to the gills” look!!
    Love, Diane

    Like

Leave a Reply

