Weekly Bulletin- July 29

Today marks the end of the second week as the owners of Bellrose Cottage! We are all beginning to feel at home here, even Charley. We are enjoying our lovely little home and neighborhood, unpacking the last few boxes, and tweaking the arrangement of our knick knacks and paddy whacks.

Philip is enjoying his new grill, the garage, and his fancy new Husqvarna mower, which he has already used twice. I’m fully taking advantage of having a washer and dryer for the first time and have done a few more loads than probably necessary- so many little baby clothes and diapers and sheets to prewash! Of all of us, Charley seems the most resistant to change, spending as much time as we allow on his mustard chair and as little time as possible in his new backyard. He has seemed a little more interested in the yard once he discovered that a woodchuck lives in the back corner of it…and we discovered that Charley needs a tie-out collar.

A few highlights from our week:

IMG_4323
Plenty of walks to the local Byrne dairy for milk in charming glass bottles, butter, yogurt, and of course, ice cream
Finding the perfect places for our artwork
Finding the perfect places for our artwork
Testing out the oven with a blueberry pie -the juiciness would have gotten me kicked off Master Chef, but we thought it was delicious
Testing out the oven with a blueberry pie -the juiciness would have gotten me kicked off Master Chef, but we thought it was delicious
IMG_4355
I made a felt case for Philip’s new laptop- I think the charcoal color with the red stitching makes it seem very a la Woolrich
IMG_4362
I made a tiny cotton cap this week and finished the little cabled cardigan…
IMG_4359
The back neck was too wide, but the pleat I added to fix the problem is now my favorite feature

I think I’m done with baby knitting now (until we meet the baby, of course), and am planning to excavate my Icelandic lopi sweater from my knitting boxes this afternoon and start working on that again. Other items on today’s agenda include eating our first loaf of bread machine bread (I used this recipe) and staying out of the heat.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Bulletin- July 29

  1. Margaret. I hear your voice in your written words. It makes me smile. I love Philip’s case. You are so clever. Your home looks very cozy and classic altogether. Looking foreword to meeting your Bundle of Joy! Your Aunt Susan

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

